Total newb: Need some help regarding forms

izihbo

Hello, this is my first post/thread here. I registered in hope to receive some help regarding a website I´m currently working on. I am not a pro, I can´t be considered a webMASTER :p

I make a hell of a mess - codewise - but in the end, it all looks good :D

My problem atm is; The customer wants to have this simple page, showing some products (15-20) with the ability to enter how many (amount) of each product people want to purchase.

Example:

[PRODUCT.JPG] - Text/information - [AMOUNT]

etc.

And at the bottom, they want a form where people can write their names, address, e-mail, phonenumber, etc. (with red stars to indicate required information, also an error message if people don´t fill it in)

Eventually a [SEND/Order now!] button - leading you to a new page saying "Thank you for your purchase, bla bla)

All this should generate a simple e-mail that will be sent to my client and he will handle the purchase manually from there.

This is like a webshop-light version i suppose and should be fairly easy to make.

- BUT NOT FOR ME. That´s why I´m asking here :) I have been googling for something similar - and sure - I find lots of things that could help, but I im the kinda guy who can look at a code - have everything I need - and still dont understand it.

Thanks for your time and I hope for some good answers! ;)

- Ronnie

conor

heres a form that sends an email that i wrote a while back. I have edited the info for your needs.

You can see it in action at http://macaoidh.name/work/order-form/

Code:
<div id="client_sales">
<?php
//start client sales

//set post variables
	$media_type	= $_POST['media_type'];
	$email		= $_POST['email'];

//settings for media_selected
function media_selected ($type) {

global $media_type;

if ($media_type == $type) { echo "selected"; }
}

//check if attempted
$attempted = ($_POST['attempted'] == 'yes');

if ($attempted) {

$confirmed = (!empty($email) && !empty($media_type));