Should i use a framework? need to save time and build complex layouts

nullbytes

Hi friends,
I have been designing websites for last 10 months. During that period, i worked with almost 20 clients and designed more than 30 websites. I know html,css,jquery, php(not advanced) and wordpress customization. It takes much time and a lot of efforts to build a website with complex layout. I need my sites to be visually aesthetic too.

What i need is,
reducing working time.
Building cross browser compatible sites.
I am weak at responsive design, so it will be great if the framework has responsive feature.
I will be able to build as complex layout as i need.
I need a framework that is versatile, and extendable.

My strengths are,
I know css very well.
I have designed many sites using css3.

Should i use a framework to boost up my productivity? I have done a little research and wondering maybe twitter bootstrap could be a good choice.

Looking forward to your suggestion my friends. :)

Phreaddee

Super Moderator
Staff member
without seeing the quality of the sites you are doing, it would be hard to judge where you are at, and if this is the best approach for you. however over 30 sites in 10 months, says to me you're pumping them out about one to two a fortnight?
At that rate, and as a beginner, I'd have to deduce that they are relatively basic sites.

back in the good old days I used a framework called 960.gs for where I was at, and what I knew that was OK. the thing was the more I learned about css the more I realised it was hindering me. A framework can be helpful but you must learn what it is actually doing, or you'll always need to rely on the framework, and in effect become a "one trick pony".

Media queries are a pretty large component of CSS, and if you "know" CSS well like you claim it should be a no brainer. simply put...
Code:
/* put all your generic styles here */

@media all and (min-width:320px) {
/* put your mobile styles here */
}