Recommend a web design course

simbob

I've been working in the design industry for 15 years, mainly in in Graphic & Product design, but in recent years have got more involved in designing websites (mainly fairly simple CSS led presentation type, front end sites, with some basic PHP/Java thrown in), which originally started several years ago as a hobby/interest, but is fast becoming my main motivation and i'd like to take this further, but as i am pretty much self taught i feel i need some formal education/training in order to do it credibly as a professional.

I work full time as a senior designer and have family so not really in a position to jack it all in and start again.

I don't feel a 10 week evening course at the local uni is sufficient and would like some suggestions as to any good distance learning (or other) courses, which would give me a good formal grounding to produce good quality websites to a commercial standard.

No sales based replies thank you!

Phreaddee

Super Moderator
Staff member
Yeah, certainly would not pay for w3schools.

Your local college course will start you in the right direction (hopefully)
Just remember, if your teacher tries to teach you “table based layouts“, he is wrong, and challenge him to teach correct, modern methods.

Once youve done that course, its basically exp after that. If youve done a good stint as a gd, you need to get your head around designing for web and designing for print are miles apart.
Likewise graphic intensive sites might look good, but again bad practice. Minimal imagery with the design, use css as much as you can.
Oh and your client base will be pretty similar to what you are used to as well.

Frank

And some schools teach people to use tables. W3Schools is good if taken at a grain of salt and not warshiped as the word of web gods.