PHP help....

Status
Not open for further replies.

david.brown

Hi,
I’m total beginner in PHP language, and I’m designing a site for a client of mine. There are certain pages I would like to use PHP on, and one of them is a new account forms page.
See, when the user enters his/her information in these fields, I would like the info to be stored somewhere, so my client can access the new customer account info, and I don’t know how do that, I can use the mailto attribute, but I don’t think it’s secure enough, and it’s tedious to cut-n-paste the info into a database. Can someone can help me out with this!?

Thanks
http://www.infysolutions.com

Last edited by a moderator:

conor

there is a very easy language that you can use to create databases called MySQL. Its similar to exel but on a far more basic level. It is very secure - as long as you do it properly! :) its exactly what you need.

Erik

Sorry, but comparing MySQL to Excel seems very strange to me. One is a spreadsheet based on cells and formulas where the other is a database that requires the use of SQL and integration with a programming language such as PHP. The two are completely different approaches.

To answer the question is PHP easy to learn, that is a totally subjective question.

As far as programming languages go there is nothing challenging about the syntax. However there is nothing challenging about a hammer and nail, yet I would never attempt to build a house. Okay, bad analogy perhaps, but you see my point.

The methods and constructs of programming are what you need to worry about. These are vast and usually require a great deal of time and work to master.

You can certainly read some tutorials and have something working in a fairly short period of time. Just make sure your expectations are realistic and understand that without a complete grasp of how web applications work, you could be creating a huge security risk with regards to the data you are storing.