Newbie Web Designer's First Web Site

an3rkist

This is the first web site I've made, so don't get your hopes TOO high! :) Anyway, looking at other sites on here it looks as though most people are using Dreamweaver to make their sites. I went the old school way and just used good old XHTML and CSS to make mine. It's a fairly simple site, and not entirely complete yet, as you'll notice, but I think it's pretty good for my first time.

Anyway, I already have an idea of what some of the criticisms will be, but I'll let them play out on their own. This web site is more of "project" web site for me. In other words I'm building it as a "hands on" way to learn web design myself. (Kind of ironic that my web site is attempting to teach others how to make a web site when I'm obviously no expert, but...) The content will be changing some as I tweak the SEO, etc. (I'm just learning SEO.) Plus I think some of it's just plain dumb at the moment. But I'm interested in some critiques of the design itself, as I'm not sure my design is working very well.

Anyway, any suggestions and criticisms are welcome, so that I can make my web site better. My lack of experience is probably fairly obvious in the design, but maybe with help from you guys I can make it better...

http://www.wisenterprises.com/

an3rkist

Thanks for the input! I knew the color thing would be a huge criticism. Personally, I like the color scheme. But I know it should be changed as it is not the best choice and most, (if not all), decent web designers would probably agree with you.

I was hoping it would just work since I like it, but I'm sure it's going to need to be changed.

Thanks for your time and for the links! I'll see what I can do about the color scheme. I've read that light colors are best, so I'll probably end up changing the background to a light grey or something. We'll see what I can figure out on this web site you linked me to.

Thanks again!