Newbie Question - Web Design Graphics

messa21

Hi...I am kind of new to the world of web design right now. I was wondering if someone could help answer a quick question. It may sound really simple and newbish.

In creating a web page, how much of the web page should be made utilizing a graphics editor like photoshop instead of utilzing css/html code. For example, is it better to use HTML/CSS code to create a colored background for a web page or is okay to use graphics editor to create the background.

I guess after the background is created it would then be uploaded as an image then applied via html/css. I hear people saying that they create most of their impages/graphics on editors thus the need to upload and apply the image but is there a threshold where the page starts loading slow and gets bogged down.

Thanks everyone!

notarypublic

CSS and HTML are always preferable. Here are a few reasons why:

Pages load faster:
Any image must be first downloaded by the computer the visitor is using. This takes time, and uses bandwidth - the more bandwidth a webpage uses to load, the more likely a visitor will move on to a different website.

CSS is easier to change:
This is probably the biggest reason I switched to using CSS instead of images. If you decide to change any of the colors on your webpage, at all, you will have to manually edit the colors on every single image. After the 3rd round of doing this for a rollover navigation bar, I decided there has to be a better way :)

CSS breaks gracefully:
If the image doesn't load for some reason, you're caught with your pants down - suddenly the user sees nothing but a white blank background page. At the very least, if you're using a textured background, set a background color behind it as a back-up plan.

Bragging rights: