Need some help with Front Page 2000 issues...

Discussion in 'Web Design' started by garry2005, Sep 29, 2005.

to remove all ads.
  1. SiteExpress

    SiteExpress New Member

    Messages:
    280
    Well, here is the problem. Using Mozilla, they both work fine for me. Using IE, the middle one does not work. So, it is not your copy of Frontpage, it is a browser support issue.
     
  2. garry2005

    garry2005 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    I know, Steph....this is the absolute worst customer service I've seen in my entire life, and for a tarnished nickel I'd be highly tempted to post their name right here for the world to see...so that nobody else gets succkered in by those creeps! The phone answered before I paid, let me tell you, but as soon as the ink was dry the honeymoon was over.

    Yeah, I'm dropping/dragging...but once you thumbnail it, there's no other way: setting the top/bottom - left/right values doesn't work.

    Garry
     
  3. garry2005

    garry2005 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    RE: thumbnails

    Just discovered something: I don't have to move the thumbnail at all; all I have to do is select Format/Position/Absolute, and the thumbnail part of it is gone.

    Garry
     
  4. StephanieCordray

    StephanieCordray New Member

    Messages:
    1,017
    When you do that, you are removing all the formatting except the new one of positioning that you are applying. Best to plan where you need it first, use tables and table cells, and add it without having to do the positioning later.
     
  5. garry2005

    garry2005 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    RE: Thumbnails

    Site Express:

    BINGO! That explains everythying! Which is very odd, because all the doc's say that F/P works best only with I/E. I know that if you view a F/P website with Netscape, it's a mess!

    Now, here's something interesting: A while back, I was on a Flight Simulator forum, and posed this same situation there. One of the members asked for the page and access to it, which I gave, and a half hour later I had a whole page full of Thumbnails that worked perfectly? I asked how he did it, but got no response, and I've been unable to contact the fellow since then.

    Look, if I can do a little more begging ..the page is www.jetcoder.com/fleet.html - Could you (or maybe Steph) have a look at that, and maybe see if there's a way to determine what he might have done differently? If you need access to the site, email me directly and I'll give it to you ([email protected]).

    I really do appreciate all this help, gang. Sometimes it's easier to just admit when something is over your head, and this is surely over mine.

    Regards,
    Garry
     
  6. StephanieCordray

    StephanieCordray New Member

    Messages:
    1,017
    Not thumbnailed:
    <p><span style="position: absolute; left: 341; top: 1073"><img border="0" src="Saab340.JPG" width="350" height="240"></span></p>

    Thumbnailed:
    <p><span style="position: absolute; left: 566; top: 555"><a href="De_Havilland_DHC-6_Twin_Otter.jpg"><img border="2" src="De_Havilland_DHC-6_Twin_Otter_small.jpg" alt="De Havilland DHC-6 Twin Otter.jpg (119703 bytes)" width="100" height="75"></a></span></p>
    <p>&nbsp;</p>

    See the difference? You don't have it thumbnailed anymore probably due to the way you are handling the divs. divs can be strange creatures when they want to be... evil ones. The div for the Saab is one of your first in your code and was actually difficult to find... I had to use the find feature because it wasn't where I expected it to be.

    If you were trying to arrange your images with some text instead of rows of nothing but images and links to downloads, I could see you using divs but I don't see that happening.

    Another thing, why I keep saying you should use tables and cells for arranging these is, in firefox, your last four images cover the text links that are supposed to be above them. There is nothing wrong with having empty table cells to achieve what you want in layout. Using frontpage it's very easy to insert a table with rows and columns... and it will display better across browsers without all the hassles. Plus using tables you can use drag and drop without losing any of your formatting. Just click and drag it to the cell where you want it.
     
  7. garry2005

    garry2005 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    RE: Thumbnails

    Wahhhh! Only two things in life frighten me: Snakes, and becoming a code-head! Looks like I'll have to overcome at least one of those.

    Just kidding...Okay, I'll go after the Table thingie and see what I can blow up with it. Do you suppose that's how that other forum-fellow made it work? Or maybe he just wrote the html code for it, manually?

    Thanks again, Steph...I hope you know I appreciate your help.
    Garry
     
  8. SiteExpress

    SiteExpress New Member

    Messages:
    280
    I am sure he used a little hand code help to get it done. This is obviously some "glitch" with FP.

    However, tables are not hard to use, and once you get the hange of them, you will worship them. They are the structure for any website, and should be used frequently. I always start with a table, with everything, and I mean everything, goes inside. By the time I am done, I usually have several of tables on every page.

    As far as your thumbnail. Notice the code for the image that is not thumbnailed? It has no link to a larger image. It is just simply a small picture. You can go in there and add the link manually, and you should be fine.


    I just looked at the page and the code, and frankly, it scared me. LOL

    If you want a little help withg the page, I am willing to helpyou, and most likely, I would just re-write the page for you. Just let me know.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2005
  9. garry2005

    garry2005 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    RE: Thumbnails...

    Hey Gang!

    Well, I have Thumbnails working, and you'll never in a zillion years guess what it was! Only good ol' MS would do something like this, and there are no cautions for it in the help-doc's. Being an engineer who owns an engineering design/development company, I did exactly what I tell my staff to do with such issues...look at it as though you've never seen it before in your life, and go into it with NO preconcieved ideas; it's a brand-new task. I couldn't begin to tell you how many technical innovations we've brought to market with this philosophy...and how many "unsolvable" problems we've solved.

    Anyway, the bottom line is so simple as to be nearly stupid: If you recall my steps, they were: Insert the big pix, Thumbnail it, format it with "Absolute " for positioning. That was the problem...the order of events! Insert the picture, format it for positioning, and then Thumbnail it...works like a charm!

    Okay, about those "Tables"...both of you seem quite adamant about using them...can you tell me why? I'm gonna dive into them on some play-pages, to get the feel for it, but if you could maybe just hi-lite your reasoning, it would likely be very helpful.

    Gang, I can't thank you enough for your help, and I feel like a total dope for making you spin your wheels on that blasted Thumbnail issue...when I should have known enough to try all different kinds of combinations!

    Garry
     
  10. SiteExpress

    SiteExpress New Member

    Messages:
    280
    ***Tables**

    1. Keeps items and text grouped together

    2. Makes moving things and getting them in the position you want them so very simple. If you want a picture to be about 4 inches below another picture, instead of hitting enter 25 times to create the space, you would just adjust the hight of the table the picture is in.

    3. Almost eliminates the need to do any "Format/Postion" of anything, unless it is to adjust something inside a table cell. "Fine Tuning"

    4. Gives you lots more control over a field on your page. Let's say you have some text that you want to highlight. You want white text on a grey background, but only in a 100x100 PX square on the page. How would you do that? If it were in a table cell, you just format the table cell to have a grey background and make the text white. then all you have to do is make the size of the cell 100x100.

    5. Let's you format a whole group of objects, by setting a property for the table, instead of formatting each individual object.

    Programs like FrontPage and Dreamweaver make using tables very easy. They display the outline of the table on the screen for you, and all you have to do is drag the edge of the table/cell where you want it, or highlight the table/cell and format the properties.

    Play around with them a bit, and let us know if you have questions.
     
  11. StephanieCordray

    StephanieCordray New Member

    Messages:
    1,017
    What he ^ said. I could probably come up with a lot of reasons why using tables is better but the main one I've already stated... you won't have the browser problem that I saw this morning with the images covering the text links. When using divs they never work across browsers exactly the same. Being an engineer, you probably know about rulers, right? Sometimes the measurements are not exactly the same from one ruler to the next? They aren't off a whole lot but it can make for problems when you are looking for exacts within so many cm, mm, or thousandths thereof. That's how it can be in browsers as well. Remember, you were putting in coordinates for where the div should be positioned. By the time you got to those last few pics, your divs' postions were off by about 4 pixels from the look of things.
     
  12. garry2005

    garry2005 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Hi again Stephanie!

    Your patience and help with all of this is more appreciated than you know, but now you do know :)

    Remember we're dealing with a total dummy here, though, which gives me license to ask what "divs" are...

    I still haven't had time to play with and learn about the tables, but I will soon...you've got me convinced it's the way to go, kiddo.

    Garry
     
  13. StephanieCordray

    StephanieCordray New Member

    Messages:
    1,017
    divs are divisions of a webpage, you can have divisions on top of other divisions called layers or use them to chop up a page into sections. either way uses the <div> </div> tags in html. the attribute that causes it to layer is the z-index. If a webpage were in 3d you'd think of it as the lower the z-index number the further back in space it will be...

    When the way it is used on your site, you are dragging your divs from one place to abother with absolute positioning and it's not working out very well
     

Share This Page