Info Please

Soxster

I'm a very basic web designer .. my own little business and do my own site.

I'm wondering if someone may know "user friendly" programs that make a graphic transparent ... to delete the background whether t be actual background of a photo or just the white square around the graphic.

Any help would be appreciated alot !

thank you
Gary

anna

How user friendly are we talking here? You label yourself as a web designer, right? Do you know Photoshop or Fireworks?

Soxster

Well ... I design and maintain a website .. so I guess that officially makes me a web designer right ? LOL I am very basic and use Frontpage ... but I do have Fireworks ... just got it and not very familiar with it ... any ideas Anna ? Thanks much !

chrisbkrh

Hey Soxter - I personally don't know of any programs out there that essentially allow you to load up the image and spit out a transparent gif file or png file. However, don't let someone rip you off by charging you a bundle to convert an image either. It's very easy. Google .gif transparency and .png transparency and see if you can teach yourself. If you ever want to spend a little $ and spruce up your site, message me.

anna

Well...It's not really a rip off if the business you're in is design. Buying a program like photoshop will pay for itself in the end (or even better, buying the creative or web premium suite).

Anyway, here is a link I found that may help (using fireworks)

http://livedocs.adobe.com/fireworks....htm?context=LiveDocs_Parts&file=13_opt20.htm

or this

http://www2.sfasu.edu/msri/Helpdesk/S14_transparent_gif.htm

I just googled "make an image transparent using fireworks" and a bunch of tutorials popped up. Good luck! Feel free to message me with questions. I'll help you (as much as possible, after all I am new as well) spruce up your site, and I won't even charge anything! :)

orangecopper

open the image in photoshop
create new layer and each image in each layer and adjust opacity.

hope that helped