In Google Chrome, two Div's are overlapping...plz help

X_Gary_X

Hi everyone,

I'm a rookie and I'm working on my first real site. I've got about two weeks of CSS in me, but I've been messing around with html, and adobe for years.

Anyways, I'm having a problem with how my home page looks in Google Chrome, and was hoping someone had a clue. The home page looks fine in IE and firefox, but in Chrome, I have a div overlapping another div somehow, ignoring all margins.

My CSS code can be seen at the botton right-hand corner of the home page via a link from W3Schools.

Any insight would be extremely helpful. Thanks!

http://www.rightfitcareers.org

Gary

problemar.jpg

Last edited:

DHDdirect

I don't have my editing computer in front of me but try putting a float:left; in to the content style and a clear:both; in the content2 style

also, your background image is a fairly large file. May want to consider optimizing it a bit.

Hope that helps

X_Gary_X

yeah, that didn't work, but thank you. That just pushed all the content way below the briefcase, and messing with the margins didnt help adjust that.

i will optimize it, ty

DHDdirect

Alright.. sorry it's kind of hit and miss without my able to sample some things myself but instead of the float:left; elements how about trying display:inline-block; instead. Put it in both the img and content styles.

If that doesn't help I'll test some stuff out when I get home, unless someone else helps you out first :)

Last edited:

X_Gary_X

That did the same thing..pushed all the content out of "briefcase" div class it looks like...weird.

(note: it doesn't do it on the career page, because there is a scroll bar. I can add a scroll bar, and it will somewhat fix the issue, but why? There has to be a reason why messing with the overflow style changes this. I don't want a scroll bar though on the main page.)

Last edited:

ronaldroe

Super Moderator
Staff member