How to approach potential clients by email?

dpcdpc11

Hi people... I'm relatively new to freelancing and I was wondering about some tips regarding the approach of potential clients by Email without looking spammy.

I found a bunch of local companies which have some 5 year old plain ugly website and I would like to approach them by email to offer my services to them by proposing them a new and up to date website.
So I've send a few email... one by one, not using Bcc or something but none of them ever replied back.

Could some of you experienced freelancers here give me some tips about what to consider and how should I express my self in email so that these companies would take my offer in consideration and not regard my email just like: "Oh no, another Spam got in my Inbox! Delete of course!"

I'm confident that you guys here can help me out with this!

Thanks in advanced,
Cristian

Goldstar

Banned
To be honest, I've had a few get to my e-mail and I almost always skip them over. If it's something with no "reply right away" importance, I usually put it at the end of my list and get back to it a week or two later. A lot of them get lost or not read because of that.

Regards,

mrandrei

Email marketing is all about making catchphrases that would attract readers, potential clients. Be direct to the point. To make sure your emails don’t get flagged as spam, avoid using words such as ‘Free’, Save’, ‘Discount’, etc., in both the subject and the content.

ian

Administrator
Staff member
That becomes borderline spam, best to optimise your site so that those people looking for a new design come to you when they do a google search. And also perhaps consider some sort of ppc advertising. But you will need an excellent portfolio first if you intend on converting leads to actual sales.

justrobin

Just write a good email. Explain why you sent it and what benefit your client would get.

Believe me, You just have to sent one... it works.