How long does it take to learn web design???

Kerchang!

............how long is a piece of string, yeah, I know! ;)

I'm totally new to webcreation, but just wanted to know from experienced folk what the realistic time frame would be from total beginner to knowing enough to create & set up a website - 6 months, 2 years, a lifetime?? :D, as this will probably be an opportuity for me at work soon.
I have the advantage of knowing Photoshop/Illustrator etc, and am visually literate, so the graphic content isn't an issue. What is, is learning enough to design a well functioning site, with downloadable content (movie clips, forms, images etc), online shopping, and all the technical stuff behind getting it up & running, being effective in the marketplace & with search engines etc, and anything else (which no doubt is loads!)
Any advice would be welcome, especially guidance on what software to use, (I'm assuming dreamweaver??? but am open to ridicule ;), other suggestions etc) & the best way to get trained, publications to read etc.

Cheers

olieog

Hey Kerchang,

I found a really helpfull site full of tutorials is http://www.pixel2life.com/, and i reckon if you have a good knowledge of photoshop your well on your way. I would say if you spend a few hours a week combing through the tutorials on begining HTML, you should have a decent looking webpage up in a couple of weeks. I have a webpage (although it needs a lot of updating and TLC) which i did after a couple of weeks. Its called www.bobbymurdoch.com and is about my football supporters club.

Enjoy the Web Adventure!

olie :)

Kerchang!

Olie

Just had a quick look at that site - fantastic! cheers mate, loads of help there.
Had a look at your site too - you did that after a few weeks!!! nice one!
Thanks for your help.

Rene

ian

Administrator
Staff member