Good study materials for Adobe CS4 Certifications?

erisstudios

Hi,
I'm somewhat new to web design / development. My life has taken some interesting turns recently and left me wondering if maybe now is a good time to change direction and do something I really enjoy.

I've toyed around with Flash, Illustrator, Dreamweaver, Photoshop and a few other apps on my own and have done some online training courses. I've never done anything professional. I have three questions:

1) I don't really want to spend 4 years getting a Bachelor's. I have a feeling that a 2-year degree may just be "laughed at," or at least not worth the time. So I'm thinking of pursuing the Adobe CS4 Certifications in lieu of a degree. What's your opinion on this course of action? Will it be enough to get me an entry-level job in web design / front-end development? I may also take a couple of online or onsite college classes in general web design principles to supplement the app certs.

2) What are the best study materials for the Adobe certifications? I don't think I want to spring for professional training classes. I would like some "test preparation" materials if they're available. I'm looking to get certified in Flash, InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator and Dreamweaver. I realize the tests are about $300 a pop if I remember correctly. Are there any other certifications (Adobe or others) that you would recommend?

3) What sort of things do prospective employers/clients like to see in a portfolio? I'm going to put together my own website of course, but what else in particular I should include in my portfolio of work?

Thanks for helping to make an aspiring web designer's dreams come true! <--pure cheese :p

Last edited:

Steven Even

Practice exams

Hi there,