Freelance or Full-Time?

adamblan

A little about my background, I’ve been designing graphics since 1999, websites since 2002, as a kind of hobby. I know my way around LAMP, xhtml, css, and have been working most recently with as3 and javascript.
My biggest problem it seems is that I’m self taught, and even if I could afford to go to school, it seems stupid to pay to attend classes that I could probably teach…
Now I find myself in a position where I’m strapped for cash, the my job is cutting hours, and I need to find work. I’ve decided that I’m through messing around, and rather than reach for the local paper to find another dead-end job, I picked up the laptop and re-designed my site. I’m going to follow my dream and design full time, one way or another :D
I’m pretty sure I could pick up some freelance work, but think it would probably be best to work with a company first. I’ve sent my resume, cover letter, letters of recommendation, & link to my site to dozens of postings in various cities, but still haven’t received more than a single form letter in response. So before I run off to the presses to have my cards printed and pass them out like candy, I need some advice from anyone who can offer it…
Should I keep trying to get a job with another company, or forget about working for someone else and just go freelance?
Do you have an opinion as to whether it’s better to work with a company or independently?
Do you think that you need a degree to design?

walkingbird

DO both keep up your work as a freelancer and keep applying for jobs. It is a hard industry to get into even if yo have school. I have taken web design in school and i don't have a steady job yet. Pass you business cards out like candy

AE7