Free Webhosting: Pros & Cons

kkiilloopp

Everyone's been there, just bought your first domain, want to get started but don't know how. Millions of people opt for paid hosting, which is fine, but if you're just a small time web designer it's not necessary!

I have spent weeks looking for a solution, and having signed up to loads of sites; now feel I have some knowledge of what's good. My website has been running for nearly a year and has had no adverts, no problems, no issues. And yes, I don't pay for hosting.

One of the first hosts I looked at offered hosting at a cost. Yes it was free, but every 6 months or so I had to fill in an advertisement form. They had said 'Free Hosting!' and they hadn't lied; but I wasn't willing to fill out adverts for them. I scrapped that account.

Some other hosts put ads directly onto your website. This is a joke so just avoid them. When looking for free webhosting, make sure they don't try and scam you. i.e. get you to sign up and find out you have to pay to abolish the adverts!

So, it all sounds great, and it is. But there are some drawbacks. If you own a huge company and need lots of space, then free isn't the answer. I mean huge though because I my hosts will give you 1.5gb free! This really should be fine for well, EVERYONE as far as I'm concerned. But as I come from a video background, I know some people will top that if sharing videos. Right then, down to the PROS and CONS.

PROS:
-FREE!
-1500MB!
-No ads! (if you look in the right places)
-100 GB Data Transfer!
-MySQL Databases!
-PHP5 support!
-Website Builder!
-cPanel Control Panel!

CONS:
-Only 1500mb storage (if that dosen't fit you)
-Only 100Gb data transfer (again if that dosen't fit you)

I haven't covered data transfer yet, but 100gb will get you way more than 100,000 visitors a month! So it shouldn't really affect you even if you do video streaming.

Where is Best?