Dreamweaver not showing me exactly what's on my site

astronaut

I am a complete newb to web design, so please bear with me. This is also my first time using both Dreamweaver and CSS. I am trying to put together a site using just xhtml and css - nothing fancy. But the problem I'm having is that Dreamweaver won't show me what my site REALLY looks like in the design view. It's CS4 and all I've been reading about is how great the live view is, but it doesn't help if the display says my left navigation column is in one place, but it is really three inches further to the left. I am pretty sure it has to do with my completely screwed up understanding of CSS & working with floats, positioning, and everything in between. I feel like I can get some stuff to work right, but then I'll just crush it all without knowing what was working in the first place.

GAAAHHHHH!!!!!!!

Okay, sorry about that. I'm just frustrated from going around in circles. Could someone please explain to me what I can do? And yes, if I need to looking something up in a book, I can do that. I have EVERY book on CSS checked out from the library.

Thanks

astronaut

That's what I've been watching. I have the Dreamweaver CS4 series, plus the CSS Site Design and the CSS for Designers. I'm much more of a hands-on kind of person. If I can just fill in a few gaps, I can figure the rest out myself. I feel like I'm missing something when I'm comparing the four different types of position, as well as when to use float instead of position.

So, I guess the bottom line is that I just need a clearer definition of terms and then a little wisdom on how & when to apply them. Any input?

bugeyesweb

here's your problem. You need to attach the style sheet from within dreamweaver. While in the properties tab editing text, go into -style- and select attach style sheet. Once the code which looks like this
<link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
is implemented, your set.

astronaut