Cheap Webhosting for experimenting?

Discussion in 'Offers' started by Wuddupz, Apr 11, 2013.

to remove all ads.
  1. Wuddupz

Wuddupz New Member

I'm really new to web-design and want to try a cheap webhosting plan where I can just pay on a month-by-month basis and experiment with cpanel and other web-design elements. I shopped around to find that HostGator had pretty decent reviews and they charge $7 on a monthly basis and have all of the features I want to experiment with. I don't plan on getting the SiteLock addon or anything as of yet since I'm pretty much just using this as a sandbox.

So my question is, is HostGator good for this, or is there something else that is better/cheaper available? I don't mind paying around $10 a month if it means I get to experiment freely. Some other sites offer cheaper plans but if you don't get a 12-month bundle or something they add on activation fees and such, which hostgator doesn't seem to do. So yeah, should I carry forth with hostgator or try something else?

2. chrishirst

chrishirst Well-Known Member Staff Member

A couple of things to point out;

99.99999% of Hosting "reviews" are written by company 'shills' and/or affiliates trying to get you to use their ID to sign up with.

cPanel is not really anything to do with "web design", it is to manage your hosting, which can be done just as easily with WebMin, Plesk, OpenPanel and several others. But if you just want some "playing time" on a real server send me a PM and I'll give you access to a 'no strings' playground account. OS is Centos with cPanel 11, Softaculous and all the other usual gubbins. eMail is locked down tight though for obvious reasons.

3. Wuddupz

Wuddupz New Member

That sounds great, thanks so much!

Err I can't seem to send you a PM, when I click the link in your post it says I don't have access and I can't find a PM link anywhere on your profile.

4. Phreaddee

Phreaddee Super Moderator Staff Member