Can't decide on my layout

RoboticPro

Good evening,

My name is Brian van der Horst, I'm a programmer/(Noob) Designer from the Netherlands
and I'm currently trying to re-design my website: http://www.briansservice.nl

But with everything I make I can't be satisfied with sadly..

I have the following previews:
http://www.briansservice.nl/6/
http://www.briansservice.nl/7/
http://www.briansservice.nl/8/

I also designed a new logo the old one can be find at the main website
the new one can be found at the new layouts. Which I'm pretty satisfied with.

Can someone give me a push in the good direction or give some tips?

Yours faithfully,
Brian van der Horst

thinkbomb

I like the original better than the three examples you gave. Have you thought about trying Wordpress? There are a lot of decent looking, free themes you can use.

Phreaddee

Super Moderator
Staff member
none of them really strike me as great, but you need to get a colour set sorted. adobe's kuler is an awesome online tool for this.

the first layout doesnt have a menu, but it is probably the cleanest to work from.

the buttons whilst its good your experimenting with these things look ghastly in that blue, as does the purple borders on the other one...

I'd try and keep it really minimal. find a solid colour set and build from there.

and a menu too.

the logo...think it still needs some work...

RoboticPro

@ThinkBomb: I don't think I'll use wordpress I worked several years on learning the code and it gives me 100% control so I rather use that.

@PhilComforthost: Thanks but the ying yang concept is very general so I kinda need my own logo so i'll keep trying then.

@Phreaddee I know about kuler i'll try to work with it and the first design the big text
is the menu, One of the reasons I want to have a different layout is because it isn't
recognizable

@All Sorry for the late reaction apparently i don't receive email notifications...
but I'll keep you updated ;)

Thanks for the advice so far,