Automatic Centering of "text"

wbmkk

Hello, I am new to HTML etc so hope you can help.

I'm designing a web page and will design with a1024px wide screen as my default, allowing a bit of space of course around the edge.

I want to create a 'container' for ALL sections of the site, which will automatically align to the centre, but am a bit stuck.

I opted to have the body 100% wide, so this will then provide a hint of colour no matter how wide the container etc is. I wanted this container to be central, no matter how wide the screen resolution is.

I read somewhere that the postion property only works if the parent has position relativr, so did this for the body, but still no luck

I tried float, left and margin options, but still can't get the container to centrtalise.

Any help would be appreciated

Regards !

denno020

Maybe if you put your whole page within one table, and have the cells' properties set to center for horizontal alignment?
This is how I make my content stay in the centre, I start with a table, 1x1, and make the content of that cell to be horizontal centre and vertically top. This always works for me. Then I use another table/s to layout my content etc.
eg:
<body>
<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td align="center" valign="top">Your content then goes here</td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>

You can see the td properties. I'm not sure if there is a special way I'm supposed to paste code in here, so I hope that's alright..

Denno

wbmkk

Thanks for your reply, but I want to use divs etc rather than the so called 'old fashioned way' of tables

Kikaider

I believe you have your html something like this:

HTML:
<body>
<div id="container">
</div>
</body>

And you can style them in your CSS:

Code:
body {
text-align: center;  /* For IE only */
}

#container {
text-align: left; /* For IE only */
width: 900px; /* Any value you like */
margin: 0px auto;
}