Auto-Date

Lotus123

I have a couple of situations where I am tired of updating a date and would like to do it automatically. I am not an expert programmer, but I am pretty good at inserting spaghetti code and making already existing code work in my website; however, I haven't been able to find what I need for this:

Code:
       <select name="menuopts" onChange="goDestination(document.mymenu.menuopts.options[document.mymenu.menuopts.options.selectedIndex].value)">
       <option>Quick Links...</option>
       <option value="guestbook.html">Community</option>
       <option value="credits.html">Credits</option>
       <option value="pages/Sep2008.html">Current Diary Page</option>
       <option value="main.html">Main Page</option>
       </select>

Is it possible to dynamicly generate the spot that shows Sep2008 to show the current MmmYYYY?

Here is my second question:
I have a line that looks like this on the same page:

Code:
   <font face="Comic Sans MS" size="1">Last Updated September 14th, 2008</i></font></p>

I would like the date here to be whatever date a specific file was modified. This file is located at "pages/site-index.html" in relation to the page that has this code.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks a bundle!

wetgravy

Sadly most of the scripting i know for that is meant for sites with admin support or php/database updating capabilities ... if you want a site that has auto capabilities ... look to a CMS.

jnjc

To make the link dynamic is pretty easy, this should do what you need:

Code:
<script type="text/javascript">
function getMonthFile() {
var months = new Array(12);
today = new Date();
months[0] = "Jan";
months[1] = "Feb";
months[2] = "Mar";
months[3] = "Apr";
months[4] = "May";
months[5] = "Jun";
months[6] = "Jul";
months[7] = "Aug";
months[8] = "Sep";
months[9] = "Oct";
months[10] = "Nov";
months[11] = "Dec";

return "pages/" + months[today.getMonth()] + today.getFullYear() + ".html";

}

</script>

<body>