3rd party content management help

i_am_beam

Hello,

I'm new to web design. I'm a musician on the local scene in my area and learned how to create websites for my projects. Recently, I've been getting a lot of requests from various places who have seen my sites to create websites for other local musicians and businesses. I am able to do so with one problem:

The other bands need to be able to update their sites fairly regularly. While most of the pages will remain the same with contact info and such, there are usually "upcoming shows" pages and things like that. I was hoping there was a way to set up the site so that someone who doesn't know much about web design could edit the content of a page. What would you do?

What do most designers do? Would I charge a monthly fee that would include hosting and be responsible for updating content?

I'm interested to see how professional (or non-pros) would approach this problem.

Look forward to the responses!

I_AM_BEAM

CaldwellYSR

Wordpress
Joomla!
Drupal

This is what you're looking for. They're the three most popular Content Management Systems.

I ordered them by difficulty easiest first. Although Drupal is the most difficult it's also one of the most powerful so you have to find the balance. Personally I'm a fan of WP and Joomla! I haven't quite figured drupal out yet but I also didn't really try to hard so...

i_am_beam

That's interesting!!!

I've used wordpress as a blog before. Am I able to design the site using dreamweaver and have wordpress access the editable regions?

Thanks.

CaldwellYSR