Who should buy the stock photo - designer or client?

avp

Hi guys! I'm a new graduate so I'm still confused with all rules and regulation in the design industry.

When it comes to buying things online like stock photo, audio or fonts for a client project, should the designer buy it then reimburse after or should the client buy it from the website? I mean, obviously, it's either but which option is the best?

And, what's the difference if the designer bought it and just give the client the contents (photo, audio, font) and the license afterwards as to the clients buying it themselves? What the pros and cons?

I am just learning all this license and such. I just want to know it properly.

ronaldroe

Super Moderator
Staff member
They hired you to do the work, for which they'll pay. So, you do it, then add it to the invoice.

d a v e

but make it clear before you pay for them that the price of any stock images will be added to the invoice

avp

Ok. I'll do that! and thank you for your answers.

One more thing guys. If you want textures for background or likes, do you also get it from stock photos? I'm thinking it is illegal to just use images from Google. Or is it acceptable?

Roddy

If I was a (prospective) website owner I would want to have documentation to prove that I had paid for the right to include somebody else's copyrighted material on my site.

I think you should get some legal advice before you consider buying a license and transferring it to a client.

I'm thinking it is illegal to just use images from Google. Or is it acceptable?

A web design forum isn't the appropriate place to give legal opinions. I would seriously doubt that any of the members of this forum are copyright lawyers in the Philippines!

AsheSkyler

I'm thinking it is illegal to just use images from Google. Or is it acceptable?