Which program/s do you work in and why?

Dashing daisies

Hi,

I am new to webdesign, so I would like to hear from designers with more experience and if you could give a link as well, sp I can see the result of the choices.

I know Photoshop, Illustrator og Indesign very well.

Flash og Dreamweaver are my new adventures at the moment. I have produced one website in Dreamweaver.

Photoshop and Fireworks: When is it an advantage to use Fireworks?

Jquery: I read about Jquery, does it replace Flash for slideshow, easier solution?

Producing the entire website in Photoshop and then slice it up? Why is this smart?

Javascript: what is it and when is it useful?

Flash: Would you make the entire website in this program?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Cheers T

ronaldroe

Super Moderator
Staff member
I have essentially 2 tools I use: Photoshop and Aptana. I have used Illustrator on occasion for tracing.

I generally lay the whole page out in Photoshop, and slice the individual elements out that I will need images for. That gives me an idea of how things should be spaced. I spent hours one day making a grid with guides to make it easier (didn't like the built-in grid). The rest is all hand-coded in Aptana. I learned hand-coding with Notepad++, which I definitely recommend. I only use Aptana now to make things faster. I feel the same way about Dreamweaver.

JQuery is a JavaScript library that can replace many of the most common uses for Flash, like slideshows, lightboxes and transitions.

JavaScript is a client-side scripting language (executed on the user's computer). It's useful for a lot of things, like adding effects, dynamically altering content, validating forms, etc.

I would shy away from Flash as much as possible. It has large file sizes, and search engines don't like it. Certainly refrain from making the entire site in it.

Phreaddee

Super Moderator
Staff member
Producing the entire website in Photoshop and then slice it up? Why is this smart?