Which program for my site? My first one!

Katzaii

Hello everybody, I am completely new to this world of webdesign. I am a French teacher and I would like to create a quite simple site but where my futur students will be able to fill a test that will be send to me. I would appreciate also a google map to show my house. I want a simple design with quite many pictures. But the site alltogether wont be bigger than 6/7 pages. I look around in internet and heard about dreamweaver and CMS. Would it be right to design my site in dreamweaver and to use CMS to manage it then? Isn¨t it difficult to link both? And can't I use CMS to design it? I read about templates and Joomla?
Many questions, I know! I know nothing. But I am eager to learn.

Thanks for helping
Karine

PS: does anybody want to learn french in Brittany, directly near the beach ?:)(ok, cold water, but still a beach!)

horrorshow75

Well this is kind of a hard question to answer for someone new to the world of web design. It's important to understand the diffrences between the two things you asked about. Dreamweaver is considered a WYSIWYG (What you see is what you get) program. You would basically use this tool to build a website from the ground up, either by using the code tab to manually write your code or the design tab "draw" the layout of your site and let the app create the code for you.