which code editor do you use?

nullbytes

I have been using dreamweaver cs6 for a few months. It's too heavy and loaded with features that i don't need. I really don't like it.
I just need a code editor which has the features like
Latest html5 and css3 syntax support.
Syntax auto hint.
php syntax support.
allow extensions so that i can add support for wordpress tags.

is there any open source/free code editor for such tasks?
Or can u suggest a good premium editor?
Thanks

chrishirst

Staff member
My current weapon of choice is Geany mostly because I can work in the same environment on a Windows box or a Linux box.

Amaya developed by the W3c so is pretty much up to date.

Arachnophilia which has a FTP upload/file synch included and used for non-CMS projects.

notepad++ which also has a FTP extension put the portable version on a memory stick --- use it anywhere

Aptana studio V3 is good (IMO) but change the theme/skin to the version 2 look because a black background is really crap to try and code on. Aptana is more like DW, as it is an IDE environment rather 'just' a code editor

I've also used PageBreeze Has a WYSIWYG environment but the generated code is less cluttered than MS FrontPage/ExpressionWeb.

Aedix is pretty good and was my 'weapon of choice' at one time. but sadly, development has been discontinued by the developer but it's still on my machine and still used from time to time.

chrishirst

Staff member
I tried Komodo (ver 4.3.1 according to my archive) so I guess at the time I wasn't overly impressed with it.

ronaldroe

Super Moderator
Staff member
I've been using Sublime Text 2 pretty exclusively lately. The interface is fairly minimal, but very powerful. Has some very well-implemented, intuitive features, and with Package Control, finding and installing add-ons (including WP support) is ridiculously easy.

nullbytes

Finally, i have decided sublime text 2. But the html editor is not that good, so i will use komodo for HTML coding.
Thanks my friends