Which CMS Best Suits Me?

GusRuss89

Hi Guys,

I'm a web designer, but I have never used a content management system. Obviously I need to learn my way around one. I don't really have enough time to try them all out then pick one, so I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions.

The things that I would prefer are:
- complete control over the appearance of the site (is this possible? do i still write the html and css?)
- a free, open source one
- i don't mind if it will take me a while to figure out, i just want maximum control of the appearance
- needs to be able to support things like a message board/news page, with comments allowed, i suppose it could just be a modified blog though.

I hope I don't sound stupid, but yeh, could you help me out please?
Also if you suggest one in particular could you tell me why?

I had kind of been leaning toward either Joomla or Wordpress, but only really because they're some of the ones I hear about most.

Thanks

Angus Russell
www.arwebdesign.com.au

ddt

Joomla is rated very high. It has won many awards and is predicted to be around in the future more than other vaporous programs. You don't want to spend all your time learning a specific platform and then poof, its gone in the blink of an eye. Make sure to support what ever you can when using open source programs. If you like, and use, support it. That is Donate.

Last edited:

elcape

joomla

you can make your own template

with a plug in for comments

and a plus is that you have a lot of tutorial on coding custom templates

scottg

I reccomend Joomla to any designer looking for a stable, scalable cms. Plus, there are lots of great ready-made templates out there for you to customize if you have basic css knowledge. Wordpress is also popular, but difficult to expand if you want more functionality. If you are a web designer, you'll love joomla. Trust me!

bluecollar01

hi gusruss,