where do I go from here?

bazinga

I'm a web designer that really does not have much of a coding background. I know HTML, XML, CSS, Cold Fusion and a little Javascript. I also know about mysql databases.

I have an education but wasn't really taught any coding like ASP or PHP. I have a full time job at a newspaper handling their website. It's nothing fancy, just an HTML based site. I am also doing freelance design.

I am in the process of looking for a new job and have seen a lot of postings for web developers and web interface designers. I don't classify myself as either since I don't do a lot of coding. To get a good job I feel that I will need to learn to do more.

What do you suggest that I learn? I'm leaning more towards PHP. I've looked into Silverlight. Any suggestions?

IT Notification

Hi Bazinga,
I'm not a web designer myself either and assuming you know bit more than I do. However, I tend do designing as part of a hobby. In your case if you want make this as a career then I would suggest do these:
1-) understand, practise, and become confident in using web designing tools, software, and content managements. For example; Dreamweaver, XML Spy, Flash, Macromedia etc... As my expereince says lot of companies they use these tools either to create or maintain their websites (internet or intranet).
2-) Understand, practise and become confident using mysql, php, javascript, asp.net, c#. At least you should have enough understanding that if a web designing software generates a code for you then you can debug or modify to your need.
3-) Creativity - suggest ideas.
4-) Definitley get a certificate/diploma or something to sell yourself to the employers.
5-) Build yourself that you are confident, proactive, and have knowledge or familiarisation to web technologies.