What can be done to improve?

Kass

I'm fairly new to webdesign. I've made maybe 6 or 7 sites, used Wordpress a bit too. I'm really good at graphic design, but its not carrying over completely to web design.

I'm doing a few sites for free to build my portfolio. I need help taking this site the extra step to 'professional' quality... I know there is something missing that would make it better, but I can't pinpoint it.

If you were designing the site, what would you add or change to make it look more complete and professional.

http://i56.tinypic.com/fbdbeo.jpg

Thankyou for the help :)

notarypublic

Two (well three) things that I noticed, that you could try tweaking - Try making the header the same width of column as the Bio information below it. In general it seems to be easier to read text on computers in shorter columns.

Your background is a lot more vivid and engaging than the content module/div, which is a good thing - you don't want your text to blend into the background. That said, it can sometimes cause the content to look like it is sitting underneath the background. Try adding a drop shadow to the content div to float it back to the top.

Third, don't do things for free. ;)

Kass

Thanks notarypublic,

I like your suggestion of changing the header to the same size as the bio information.
And I see what you mean, the content does seem a little sunken in now.
Is there a way to add a dropshadow to a div with css?

Finally, i really don't have a portfolio right now, so I wouldn't be able to get much paid work. The websites I've done in the past have been spread out over time, and don't really reflect what I know now. Plus its for a friend, so I don't mind.

Besides the things you mentioned, do you believe this is a quality site that you would not be afraid to charge for?