What am I missing by not upgrading?

Coffee Freak

I am getting ready to "hang out my shingle" and start building websites again professionally. I have been out of the game since about 2000 when I worked as a web design consultant. I have dabbled a bit since, and my software is out of date a bit. I am running Macromedia Dreamweaver 8, Fireworks 8, and Photoshop 7. For now, I probably won't be building any e-commerce sites, but eventually I'd like to be capable of it.

Can anyone tell me what I'm missing by not having the most recent versions of these?

Thanks!

Absolution

A lot of the graphics on good websites are actually quite simple in terms of software, although a lot of thought goes into the design. So really you aren't missing anything in terms of upgradable software. The only thing that seems to be missing is a good vector graphics software for logos and what not, such as Illustrator. But I found Inkscape, which is free, works just as good for what I do.

ronaldroe

Super Moderator
Staff member
Not much need to upgrade for web design. The only thing I can think of is that Dreamweaver now handles HTML5, but you may be able to find a plugin for your older version that does so. Not that Dreamweaver is actually necessary. There are plenty of free alternatives out there that are either better or equal.

Coffee Freak

Not much need to upgrade for web design. The only thing I can think of is that Dreamweaver now handles HTML5, but you may be able to find a plugin for your older version that does so. Not that Dreamweaver is actually necessary. There are plenty of free alternatives out there that are either better or equal.

I use dreamweaver mainly because a) I have it b) I like the split screen gui and code view and c) I have it. Oh, and it's pretty easy to use. I've been out of the loop for a while - I'll have to familiarize myself with HTML5.