website capacity?

cj929

I’m very new to having my own website, I don’t know a lot about what happens behind the screens, servers etc but here are a few questions hope someone can give me some info. This is my website- www.onbikescotland.com

I had a website made which has several video samples (bike touring) but a person in America told me that it took him an hour to download a 11mbs clip, but on my computer and at a local internet cafe it only takes 70 seconds.

He told me i must have a very slow connection + download speed? What does this mean?

I think my site has a 50mb capacity- does the size of a site dictate how fast and how many downloads can be taken from the site simultaneously? Can i find out myself what capacity by website actually has, how much space i have- the actual instructions to do this?

Basically do you think i'm losing business because the capacity of my site is not up to the job, and are all servers the same?

Any info greatly appreciated

qadisha

Download time

Download times depend on the size of the page and, of course, on the type of connection at the visitor's end. On my 512Kb connection your site downloaded almost instantaneously (and I like it's clearcut look).

On this site (which is in French, there are probably English versions out there too) you can establish the size of your page and your Homepage is a little on the heavy size: http://www.graphitoo.com/poids_page.php

As a last word, you ought to bear in mind that quite a number of people still do not have ADSL and they say that a download time of 10 seconds or more makes people abandon the download and move on somewhere else.

ian

Administrator
Staff member
If the video downloads and plays within a reasonable timeframe on the computers you have tried, then it could be that the person who complained was on a slow dial up connection, either that or they were exaggerating perhaps.

jmad