Web designer question

Jack o Lantern

Hello,

I'm new to this, but I have a question I wanted to ask web designers opinion. I have a side business idea that I believe should make some decent money, but I need a web designer for it. Technically it would be me working in sales for small businesses in my area to create a site for them. I would do all the calling, visiting, meeting, etc. then have the we designer take over. I have dilly dallied with WordPress and it seems fairly easy to create an informational website, which is what I want to push for. I am thinking of pricing the site at $5-600 for a simple informational site (home, about us, product/menu, contact us). I just don't know how long (hours) an informational site would take. Say for a restaurant, a simple site where it would be Home, about us, Menu (PDF), contact us. How long would it take someone to do this? The reason I'm asking is cause I don't even know if a web designer would be up for a simple job like that for $3-400 per job.

Any insight, any information would real helpful from experienced designers. Anyone that can help, just want to say thank you ahead of time!

ronaldroe

Super Moderator
Staff member
You could probably find someone with intermediate experience who'd work with you for that price. Time-wise, if they're reasonably capable with Wordpress already, and they're creating custom themes from scratch, you're looking at a good 40+ hours and that doesn't include content or things like custom plugins or widgets. That's a basic site. If they're just customizing existing themes, as some unfortunately do, quite a bit less.

Jack o Lantern

Thank you for your input!