Starting Out!

pound

Hi

After spending many years in boring office jobs I feel I would like to take the jump into the world of web design. Whilst Im not bad on a PC I have no experience on Web Designing. I would be aiming to run a small business which would initially be on top of my usual 9-5 job, aiming at small local businesses, clubs and so on. I am keen to get any advice any of you may be kind enough to offer, particularly on which home Courses you would recommend, I have found many courses but as I am a novice I do not know which would be the best - I have seen one called WebIntro 3.1 v2 via Training Link which appears to be a good starter, any opinions? How long should I expect to do a course for before I have enough knowledge to start small Sites? I appreciate I would need ongoing education after this in order to improve any skills. Any tips for setting up small business, i.e. do free sites to start with for small businesses/clubs in order to build up a portfolio? Is it feasible to epxect to make a small profit (as I say this would initially be on top of my job) after completing a course such as the above?
Thanks to anyone who can advise/help - any advice is REALLY appreciated. Help me unlock these 9-5 chains!!

ian

Administrator
Staff member
Whether you can make a living as a web designer, depends on how talented a designer you are. You have to be very talented with graphics and design to make a living designing sites for others. Having said that, developing your web design skills to build sites for yourself can help you make a good living off the internet without designing sites for others.
You can probably find a lot of what you need to know to get started through various tutorials on the internet.

StephanieCordray