Spry menu bar issue - space between?

lowellben

Hello forum.

I have just signed up here with the hopes of bettering myself as a web designer (and hopefully meeting some cool, interesting people too!)

I've been designing websites for about 6 months now, after reading book after book, experimenting with hands-on web designing in my spare time, and I'm getting the hang of it. I'm fairly comfortable with CSS, HTML, and XHTML (thanks to the Missing Manual series and my buddies lol)

Here is my issue. I have this pesky "space" above my Spry menu bar in Dreamweaver CS5. I've tried everything to remove it. There are no margins/padding on my header div or my nav div - so it can't be that. I don't understand. It's only in live view and in browsers. In non-Live view, it looks tight and flush with the content div. See? I set the colors to just make it easier to see for you all.

Please, can someone school me on how to remove this annoying sliver of space? :) Thank you so much! It's good to be here. I'm sure it's an easy fix, I'm just not seeing it.

Thanks again,
LB

http://www.screencast.com/t/B99sEstKSben

edit:
See what happens when I remove the banner placeholder? The Spry menu jumps up and is flush with the top of the page. Why can't it do that with the banner? All I'd like is for my Spry menu to be flush, tight up against the banner.

http://screencast.com/t/rdupZGd6

Both videos should help, I hope - thank you again - I really appreciate it. I'm at a standstill now :(

Last edited:

lowellben

Could you post your source code to look at? Preferably on a live URL?

Sure, I can do that. I thought the videos would help, sorry about that.

Thank you!

LB

here you are...this is the best I can do for now (at work)....thank you, I hope you can help :( I'm so stuck - I can't tell what's overflowing, if anything.