Please review my site

omelette

Please could you have a look at my site, I am pretty new to web design and have mainly been working on the functionality so any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Swapaholic

It is still under construction so I am aware there may be some errors but I'd mainly just like help with the design.

I haven't figured out what to put on the home page yet so I know that doesn't look great at the moment.

Thanks

StephanieCordray

I think the yellow background is too busy. Also the images and text used on the search items page are very pixelated and have a yellowish background that doesn't blend in very well.

ian

Administrator
Staff member
I dont like the yellow, it looks too bright, also I think you need some pictures of movies and games on the main page.

omelette

I think the yellow background is too busy. Also the images and text used on the search items page are very pixelated and have a yellowish background that doesn't blend in very well.

I agree with the images on the search page, i'm redoing them at the moment.

I originally had a plain yellow background but it looked a bit boring. Would it be better a different colour or just a paler yellow?

Thanks for your comments

zkiller

Super Moderator
Staff member
i agree with ian that you need to add some images to the content area. shift the users focus to what is important.

i also agree with stephanie, i'd stay away from the yellow. yellow draws to much attention and in your case, i don't feel it flows to well with the overall color scheme. i would try a i light gray or just something less "in your face".

omelette

Thanks nman14

Everyone's comments are much appreciated, i've taken all the advice on board and made a few changes.

Artoonie

it still looks pretty basic. I'd suggest getting a more professional banner. also, the bottom copyright bar is static on the page and blocks some content. perhaps making it a regular table instead of the div float or whatever you're using?