New website for AutoShop... Please review.

bowenac

Hello, I am just starting to do some freelance work. I got my degree in web development recently. I would like a review of a site I am working on. It is pretty basic, just looking for some suggestions, pro's con's etc for future work. The shop loves the site, and gave very good feedback and says a lot of his customers are already commenting on the site.

www.stockcustomsauto.com

Thanks in advance.

Here is my site if you would like to review that as well, been making some changes here and there so anything you could recommend for that would also be great.

www.adamcbowen.com

d a v e

header background is twice as wide as it needs to be and it quite weighty at around 250kb - compress it a little more and make it the right width

Padding! please - there's so little space around the text

use real xhtml headings (i.e. h1 etc)

it's 2012 so your copyright should say 2011-2012 ;)

optimise (and properly size) your thumbnails

tone the text down a little to say #e0e0e0 or similar - too stark and uncomfortable to read.

navigation text is a bit on the large side

use proper alt attributes - text that properly replaces the image: using "Stock Customs Auto Hours" doesn't tell you what the opening hours are.

bulleted list needs more space after the bullets

i would also use a heading before each paragraph that sums up the point of the paragraph e.g.

Saves you money
stock Customs Auto performs licensed warranty work on cars as well. At half the cost of dealerships, Stock Customs Auto is the perfect alternative for regularly scheduled maintenance check-ups.

stockcustoms.jpg

Last edited:

benjamin.morgan

I like the design. The navigation is a bit on the large side, but what really kept distracting me away from the content was the square that has the big HOURS text.

bowenac

header background is twice as wide as it needs to be and it quite weighty at around 250kb - compress it a little more and make it the right width