My own web design site (draft)

X_Gary_X

Hey,
I'm still learning day by day, but I figured what better way to learn, than to work on your my own website. Don't worry about the content, because there will be more, this is just a draft. Just wanted your opinion on the home page design and images I made. Also, anyone know why my jquery is choppy in IE and firefox?

Thanks in advance

http:www.bfwebdesign.com

Last edited:

leroy30

Hi Gary,

I think you should print out your home page and make some objective notes on what looks good and what doesn't.

To be honest, the shadows and glow effects look cheap. I also think you should forget about gradients in your logo and make it either 1) a solid color/s or 2) a very subtle gradient

When you mouse over your menu the cursor is text cursor then hand cursor... use cursor:pointer to make is only the hand cursor.

Your menu type is Nyala then Tahoma but your content is just Tahoma - why? I think you should make it more consistant (besides the serifs on Nyala just aren't working).

Overall I think it's a good start. I like the colour theme and where it's heading I just think there's a few areas that could be a bit more professional.

Keep us posted on the changes!

Le-roy

kayla

I thought I commented on this already, but I guess it was when the forum stopped working.

I agree with leroy30 about the gradient in the logo. In the graphic it looks okay, but on the text it reminds me too much of word art in MS Office.

For the "Request a quote" at the top, you have "Request" as the link but I initially hovered over "a quote" thinking it would be the link. I might be the only person that does that, though. I tend to think backwards.

You'll have to fix the Facebook and Twitter links at the bottom, but I'm sure that's something you'll do later (maybe you don't have the pages set up yet).