Javascript, Slices & IE 7 Problem

moonlit

Ok, this is really confusing, I'm not sure what the problem is...

When I visit the site I'm in the process of making it will display fine in Firefox, Netscape & Safari. When I visit the site in IE 7, my slices are not aligned properly and my drop down menu navigation using CSS & Javascript won't work. Here's the link:

http://www.classicengraving.org/New Layout 6/layoutv7.html

I'm not an expert but know mainly HTML and some CSS. Can anyone help me pinpoint the problem?

Thanks.

jnjc

I've had a quick look at this. Focusing on the line through the logo. The Logo image is split across two rows of a table. Both the image and the row have a explicit height. I found if you increase the height of the image but not the row (by 1px) on both sections the line disappears. I have seen these 1px differences between FF and IE. I tend to try and design things so that the 1px doesn't matter.

I won't go into the argument that you shouldn't use tables for layout, do a search on it if you want to know more....

What ever you used to slice the images made some poor choices which I think ultimately is going to give you headaches. You should look at having one row which contains your logo and menu and another row that contains you rounded corner etc... this way a pixel here or there will make no difference...

moonlit

Thanks for the tip. If I kept the logo & menu bar in one slice, how would I go about coding the drop down menu with the image menu bar? Would I use image mapping instead of actual individual slices?

Also, just curious...how would my layout work in CSS instead of tables? I know you probably can't explain it all to me but maybe some basic info would help. Thanks.

Last edited:

jnjc

Thanks for the tip. If I kept the logo & menu bar in one slice, how would I go about coding the drop down menu with the image menu bar? Would I use image mapping instead of actual individual slices?