How do you get clients?

advantagewebs

I am new in the web development business - just coming up to six months - and would like to know what others are doing to get new clients, particularly non-local. I would like to build my client base both locally and globally, but seem to be stuck on ideas for marketing and getting them! Would love to hear what is working for you!

suz

Also make sure to have good examples of what you can do on your site. It doesn't matter if the work wasn't for a paying client.

bullzeyedesign

you should try a marketing campaign such as a postcard mailer to a targeted set of demographics. I've used AccuData before and that's an easy way to get a list of mailing addresses to send your information to.

I've found that I get a lot of clients because I've put testimonials on my website -- having some information about how previous client interactions have gone really seems to increase the likelihood that your site visitors will want to do business with you. It's very very competitive so anything that can help you stand out will be beneficial.

Also, think about starting a blog and becoming not only a web designer but a "professional" in your industry. Submit your site to search engines and any kind of web design directories you can find (try google). It takes a lot of effort to do this but it's worth it.

wetgravy

Direct mailing campaigns are great ... and relatively cheap if you know what sort of business you want. I get loads of free postcards from vistaprints and mail them directly to my local businesses that i want to target (restaurants and service providers like handymans and plumbers always need design services and ways to improve their customer base). Also if you get them printed blank on the back you can put a printed sticker there later to provide any special ads or services directly to your customers you do business with regularly.