How do you create & host your own forum

scroll

Somebody suggested using a program called ibserver or something like that? But having real probs with PHP etc... as i am new to this :confused:

So help is required!!!! Thanks

StephanieCordray

Where do you want to host the forum is the first question, not how. If you have a hosting service you quite likely already have the means to host a forum, so I'd start there. ibserver sounds like something you'd use on a home box or something... not that i would know since i've never heard of it before.

StephanieCordray

well, now that could be a problem if your isp has outages(even cable has outages sometimes), unless it's just a personal type forum. but looks like you're on the right track with what you want to do. I don't know anything about ibserver, though. Some others might come along later and have some other suggestions.

I take it you want something easy to manage?

scroll

yes erm i got php bb yesterday dont know how to install it. Neither how to setup web space on my computer im on dsl 512kbps

StephanieCordray

if you're going to use phpbb you'll need a server that will set up mySQL databases. Setting up webspaces, you'll need a decent web server app, a static ip is desired, or a service that will update for dynamic ip addresses. There's a lot of work to do running a web server from home without the support of a true data center with the built in redundancies, backbone support, and so on.

We once ran an irc chat server from home it was a b****. But then it was a windows server with IRCPlus on top of that... frequently getting hacked and way too hard to keep secure for the amount of use it was getting.

StephanieCordray

what i'd suggest if this is all you want to do... host a small personal forum... is get a small even tiny hosting plan through a decent service... something not very expensive.