Help required !!

ceace

Hi All,

Newbie here.

What i'm looking to design is a website that will be for internal use within my company, I need a basic site where staff would input details into a site and the details input would populate an excel sheet.

Not really sure of how to go about it.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.

Ceace

mongolish

very hard to do you need to have some scripts
look for some javascripts that have keywords input populate
but the easiest way to do it would to have a password protected area and have just a chat form where you could add information that way

lee_vhoi_ol

Hi All,

Newbie here.

What i'm looking to design is a website that will be for internal use within my company, I need a basic site where staff would input details into a site and the details input would populate an excel sheet.

Not really sure of how to go about it.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.

Ceace

you can do this with Java, you can do this with PHP and MySQL.

Process info through PHP --> store info in mySQL database --> convert mySQL table to Excel.

you can search for a generic function for converting MySQL tables to Excel.

you'll have to learn PHP, and mySQL. But this should work.

webfinity

You're looking at something custom designed most likely. I don't believe something out of the box will do what you are looking for.

zkiller

Super Moderator
Staff member
could you be a bit more detailed? what sort of data will your users be entering and why do you need this to go to an excel spreadsheet? why not to a database? will this be hosted on a windows or linux server (i.e. IIS or Apache).

since this is meant to be for your small business, i am gonna assume it's gonna be on a windows box, as IIS is included with every install of windows 2000 professional and windows xp professional.