Feedback on website much appreciated

stuartpb

I've almost finished a website that is a personal project. I've just taken a website design and maintenance module as part of my degree course, and was it's given me the idea to create this site. I have some experience with CSS and HTML, but very limited experience of PHP, so I wanted to try and build a CMS, using PHP. I'm studying for a BSc in IT & Organisations, but I'm really very interested in web design, and may take up some other web design/ scripting courses while I'm at uni.

I have the functionality of the site working, apart from a contact page and possibly a commenting system on the articles, so I'm now looking at tarting up the site. It's looking rough and ready at the moment, so any ideas, comments or suggestions would be very gratefully appreciated. I do like the color scheme, so I would like to keep that as is (or with little change). I know there are one or two jobs left to do, including adding a contact page.

Thanks,

Stu

The link is: http://webdesign.hexsys.co.uk

AK Web Design

I like the layout. However, I think for a professional web design company, you should use different colors. I would change the orange to a dark blue or something similar.

Out of curiousity, how long have you been doing website design?

stuartpb

Hi, and thanks for the feedback, it's much appreciated. I do like the orange, but can see that it may be too much.