Content Managment advice

chipper_001

Please can someone help me? I am just starting out in webdesign/devlopment and am currently trying to build some websites for friends so I can get some
practice and to build myself a portfolio of my work. My problem is my friend
s that I am building the websites for know nothing about webdesign and HTML/CSS etc but will want to update and amend the content of their site once I've finished it. Please can someone give me advice on what the best way of doing this? I've heard WordPress could be an option, Many thanks!

wetgravy

Look into wordpress, joomla or kubeblog. All have an adminstrator utility that is fantastic for just updating sites, publishing/unpublishing content, and managing users.

either that, or if you want them to have a site that only has 3-6 pages they want to regularly update ... CushyCMS.com is a neat online cms that you can program in the code for editing ... bad thing is, is that if they want to add pages or lots of content they are restricted to what you programed in.

3dmagicaldesign

Wordpress is just useful to create blogs and interact with people, it also brings traffic to your website, CMS is a very good option, although you need to acquire good skills in web design and web development.

The reason why I say this is because you need to know many resources to complete a very good project and most of the times your clients will come with complicated tasks to be developed ( too much programming involved), then you will realize that not only Wordpress skills or CMS skills will be enough.

If you want to get involved with web design you need to start learning many tutorials, ask on forums, for example, you didn't know I was gonna give you this advice and now I know it will be very useful to you. I also started with a few skills, then the market and my competitors made me think about learning many techniques, strategies, new technologies, etc.