As a web designer, should I use Adobe Fireworks? :/

JakClark

Hi, I'm Jak, a freelance web designer from Lincoln, UK. I recently signed up to the forum, to 'research' and compare what other web designers are and should be doing.

I'd like to start by asking a quick question, which I hope I've asked in the right category.

I've been designing websites for about three years, in which I believe they have got better and better, but obviously not to a degree that I'm a pro. But I notice that the majority of web designers use photoshop. A program of which I cannot get to grips with, as I'm much more comfortable using Fireworks.

Am I being 'unprofessional' in designing my websites in such a program, despite it originally being created for that purpose? <-- Correct me if I'm incorrect.

Particularly when I'm eager to design some layouts to sell on a marketplace, although they only accept .PSD's.

I've an example of a piece of work I created in fireworks, although it's not to the best of my ability.

watermarkeddesigntworea.png

I may sound silly asking this, and perhaps a little unprofessional. But that's why I've turned here, to ask.

Thankyou in advance, Jak Clark.
www.jakclarkdesign.co.uk

Last edited:

PixelPusher

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jak you are by no means doing anything wrong using Fireworks. Adobe made the product for web design. I am a veteran Photoshop user so that's what I stick to. I would say all in all it is a matter of preference.

The plus side to Photoshop... its more than just a web design tool. Its for photographers, print designers, and more. I would say Fireworks just targets on one Photoshop's many facets.

smoovo

Fireworks designed only for web design, so if you would like to do more, like many others (that's why you hear what you hear), so try to learn Photoshop, it does it all.

- Enjoy.

v2Media

Fireworks is ideal for simple designs. It's a bit limiting if you need to do anything advanced though.