Advice on how to update my site more efficiently?

deadbattery

Hi everybody,

I've been looking for some advice on how to update my current website and this place looks quite friendly, so I hope you don't mind me asking a few questions

I'm an illustrator on the third year of my course and I desperately need to change how my website is coded. It's a requirement of the course to build a website, but they only have time to teach us over four sessions, so the teacher strongly suggests building the layout in Photoshop then slicing it up into Dreamweaver for direct upload. It worked out fine and I have a website that I'm happy with, but I've recently realised that it seems like quite a lame method and is very hard to update.

I don't have much website building experience so I didn't think about it at the time, but I can't seem to make much sense of adding new images to it. I figure I need to go back to the Photoshop file and add in the images and slice them, then rename everything to fit the existing structure and basically shunt everything along. I'm not sure if that's correct but I can't see any other way around it! The other issue I have is that my illustration descriptions are all images too, which means I can't edit them in Dreamweaver. You can see my site here.

I would like to have the same layout but so that everything's editable in Dreamweaver, so I can swap out images easily etc. What would be the best way to do this? I've been trying to build a layout using div tags but I don't think I'm going about it the right way.

Can any one suggest what my next step should be please? I'm quite persistent and can pick things up quickly, but it would be great to know if I'm going in the right direction first!

Thank you!
Cathy

Rumpleteazer