add page to allow file upload ??

expatCanuck

Greetings -

I'd like to be able to add a page to my site to let family members upload their photos of a recent joint trip.

No idea where to start.

Any pointers towards good examples, sample code, and teaching sites (e.g. - w3schools.com) would be welcome.

If it matters, Linux is the server OS on which my site resides, and my family will likely upload their photos from Apple Mac computers. But I don't have a Mac. So if a client 'OS-neutral' approach is possible, so much the better. I can likely get Linux up & running if it'd help (or be necessary) in testing (I seem to recall that the latest Apple OS is linux/unix-based).

I have written some vb database code, maybe a dozen lines of javascript, and some C back in college, so I do have a technical background (I'm a Business Systems Analyst by day). But I have minimal web development experience, so less is likely to be more, & simpler is better.

One thing that would certainly be welcome, tho', is password protection of the upload functionality.

Any & all help welcome.

Thanks kindly.

- Richard

oldWithoutMoney.com

Last edited:

rbxslvr

Greetings -

I'd like to be able to add a page to my site to let family members upload their photos of a recent joint trip.

No idea where to start.

Any pointers towards good examples, sample code, and teaching sites (e.g. - w3schools.com) would be welcome.

If it matters, Linux is the server OS on which my site resides, and my family will likely upload their photos from Apple Mac computers. But I don't have a Mac. So if a client 'OS-neutral' approach is possible, so much the better. I can likely get Linux up & running if it'd help (or be necessary) in testing (I seem to recall that the latest Apple OS is linux/unix-based).